Precious Metals
Review and Outlook
01/23 thru 02/03/2017

Gold, Silver, the U.S. Dollar, Platinum & Palladium





Originally Posted on 01/30/2017 @4:03pm



Precious Metals Review & Outlook

Hello,

I hope that you and your family have been safe and well.

Like last week, I'm going to skip doing an intro and go straight to the charts.

The order of this week’s Charts & Analysis are as follows: Gold, Silver, U.S. Dollar, Platinum & Palladium.




GOLD

Last week, gold attempted to move up, but it hit resistance at the $1220 level on Monday (1/23).

For the rest of the week, gold's price fell ending the week below $1200 at $1190.93.

In the chart below, you can see that as gold fell in price last week, it created a mini falling expanding wedge, inside the larger expanding wedge that dates back to September 2016.

The price could continue to fall in price, expanding the wedge, or it could make a bounce and reverse in price now or later this week.

Time will tell which way it moves, but we may see a little more ‘consolidation or profit taking’ before this mini expanding wedge plays out.

gold price chart

Note:

Click the chart to the right for Forex-Central's definition of a 'Falling Expanding Wedge' also known as a 'Descending Broadening Wedge.'






Gold's Price Resistance &
Support Levels

Gold's Resistance Level

$1250.00

$1220.00

$1200.00


Gold's Support Levels

$1180.00

$1170.00

$1150.00




SILVER

Last week, the chart below was posted for silver; in it, I indicated that silver had formed a ‘Bull Flag.’

silver price chart

Charts provided courtesy of TradingView.com

On Monday (01/23) silver broke above the bull flag, but then on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday it fell back below it.

But silver ended the week back above $17.00 at $17.12; seven cents above where it started the week.

As for next week, silver’s chart isn’t giving any clear indications as to which way it will move.

The silver chart (below) is not showing any patterns; the MACD is slightly above the ‘Zero’ line, and the 'signal line' is flat and giving no signal.

Furthermore, silver’s RSI (Relative Strength Indicator) is sitting slightly above the midway point which basically tells us the price could go either way this week.

silver price chart

Silver's Price Resistance and
Support Levels

Silver's Resistance Level

$17.50

$17.25



Silver's Support Level

$16.75

$16.65





US DOLLAR

Last week, it was stated on this blog that the U.S. Dollar looked like it was going to trade between $101.00 and $100.00 and that’s what happened.

The dollar didn’t move much last week; it continues to trade in the ‘Descending Channel’ indicated in the chart below.

As for the week ahead, the U.S. Dollar’s MACD and RSI are both sitting in oversold territory, so the price of the dollar should correct this week and move up, but stay within the trend-lines of the Descending Channel.

                                                                               (continued…)

us dollar price chart

Charts provided courtesy of TradingView.com

In addition, the expanding rising wedge in the U.S. dollar chart continues to be a negative sign for the dollar.


Note: Click the chart to the right for Forex-Central's definition of a Rising Expanding Wedge or 'Ascending Broadening Wedge.'






U.S. Dollar's Price Resistance and Support Levels

U.S. Dollar's Resistance Level

$103.50

$102.90

$101.00



U.S. Dollar's Support Level

$100.00

$99.75

$99.00





Platinum

Last week Platinum consolidated in price.

Platinum’s chart looks like it may be showing an inverse ‘head and shoulder’s pattern, which I indicated it in the chart below, but only to show you. 

I say this because the MACD is moving in oversold territory, and it doesn’t look like the pattern will play itself out. 

But, I could be wrong;  Ultimately, time will be the judge.

If I am wrong, and the inverse head and shoulder pattern does play itself out, the price of Platinum will break above $1000.00 a troy ounce soon.

platinum price chart

Charts provided courtesy of TradingView.com




Palladium

Last week, the Ascending Channel was identified in Palladium's chart, palladium has been trading within this channel since November/December 2016.

The price of Palladium fell over $50.00 last week, but the fall in price didn't give any indication as to which direction it will move this week.

There are no clear patterns in the chart, except that the MACD and RSI are trading in oversold territory, so more consolidation or profit taking is expected this week.

palladium price chart



This week I didn't get a chance to listen to music much as I created this post because I've been having kind of a hectic weekend; So until next week...

I Hope You Have a Great Week.

Thank you for your time & God Bless,

Steve




Thank You for Visiting the Free Bullion Investment Guide

This Guide gives 50% or more of what it earns to those who are Battling Cancer.

Please Help Us Give by Supporting our Affiliates.

(Every Advertisement on the Guide is from one of our Affiliates)



'Click Here' see all of the prior Blog posts,



Thank You for Your Time!









Free Bullion Investment Guide




search

   Search the Guide

search engine by freefind


Donate through
PayPal, Debit, or Credit Card


Thank You!

NANO Cancer Awareness Ribbon for the Free Bullion Investment Guide


This Guides Gives
1/2 its Earnings
to Individuals
who
are Battling Cancer
through

 
The Angel of Healing Cancer Fund

Archangel Raphael The Angel of Healing

Who is the
Angel of Healing?

The Archangel Raphael



This Guide's Contributions to those Battling Cancer

$5,254.43

Next Ledger Entry 10/15/2019

Last Ledger Entry 09/15/2019


Ledger History Spreadsheet




Time-line of Who this Guide has Sponsored

2012 - 2019












recent guide updates

Bullion News on the Homepage

updated - daily

(except Saturdays)



09/20/2019

Q and A with

Ning Fang Ph.D.

a Pioneer in Gold Nanoparticle Cancer Research




09/15/2019

Ledger




09/08/2019


video
Deal or NoDeal,
The US/China Trade War is Dictating Silver and Gold's Prices
Review and Outlook for Gold, Silver, and the U.S. Dollar, ...on Video






Updated / Re-Edited

dow to gold ratio

Dow to Gold Ratio




Updated / Re-Edited

Price Inflation page

Price Inflation

page




Updated

us bullion

U.S. Bullion Mintage Figures




Added

1st Qtr 2019

Charts and Bullion News




Added

4th Qtr 2018

Charts and Bullion News




Added

queen's beasts
queen's beasts
queen's beasts

UK Queen's Beast Gold, Silver, & Platinum Bullion Coins




Added

99999 Gold

Canadian .99999 Gold Call of the Wild Bullion Coin Series




Updated

Silver Libertad Mintage Figures

2019

Gold and Silver Libertad Mintage Figures




Cancer Awareness Information & Resources page

Cancer Awareness Gold Nano-Ribbon

Continuously Updated










Silver Shield collection